Sad News – Sean Taylor


On the way into work this morning, I heard on the radio that Washington Redskins Safety Sean Taylor had passed. There were encouraging signs the night before with him, but God called him home this morning. Here is a link to the Washington Post report.

I never met Sean Taylor nor ever saw him in passing. Heck, I’m hardly a Redskins fan. This morning, I think about HOW he died: protecting his one-year old daughter and girlfriend from an intruder. He did what any MAN would do.

He and his girlfriend were reportedly awakened by a noise in the house. When Sean got up from his bed and grabbed a machete (which he kept for protection, we are told) the intruder burst through the bedroom door and two shots were fired. One shot hit the wall and the other tore through Taylor’s leg, hitting an artery, causing him to lose a lot of blood.

Now, we all know that Taylor hasn’t been the law’s or reporter’s best friend and some may say, “Well, you live that life….” or whatever. Let me stop you, right there. Truth be told, if God were to judge us and we look back over our lives, NONE OF US deserve to be here and we’d all be gone from this earth. So before you begin to judge another’s life and HOW they lived it (which NONE of us know another’s TRUTH), look in the mirror. Has your life been crystal clear? Have you NEVER sinned.

A sin is a sin is a sin. There is no such thing as a “little sin” or a “big sin”. We’ve all done it, but God forgives us.

God: “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone”
Me: “That sure is a big pile of rocks back here”

Since I KNOW all the “Super Saints” of the world will be out to judge this man (and anybody else) for their faults, all of those who are have never done any dirt and are pure and clean and without fault can all stay in the room together…last one cut off the light………..

This man died because of another’s devilish act. End of story. A father, son, friend, brother, boyfriend and teammate has been taken away from those lives he affected.

I will keep his family and friends in prayer. I ask that you do the same.

We all could use a little self-reflection and prayer. I pray that God gives every life he touched, STRENGTH to make it from here until we are called home.

2 Responses to “Sad News – Sean Taylor”

  1. Stevenator! Says:

    Mag-Diva,
    As a native Washingtonian, I can hardly remember a time when this city has been so sick w/ grief. I truly hope these cowards who robbed the Taylor family of their loved one are brought to justice. I am glad that God allowed Sean to be with us long enough for the rest of the world to see the man he could be, even for a little while.
    Sean Taylor will be remembered as a gifted athlete who was also a classic, hard-hitting DB; a family man and a real man for putting himself between danger and his loved ones. Normally, I don’t wear the jersies of players who come behind me but daylight will not fall before I honor that young man that way.
    Thank you.

  2. I was so heart broken about what happen to this young guy!

Leave a comment