Archive for 03/31/2007

I HEART basketball and football!

Posted in basketball, football, Georgetown, Indiana, SEC, SWAC, UNC on 03/31/2007 by magnoliadiva


I’ve loved basketball since I was the 7th grade when Mississippi Valley State and Duke played in the NCAA tournament (that was 1983)!. I watched that game with my Mom and Dad (um, yeah……my Mom is a sports junkie, too……..don’t let the smooth act fool you!). So, today, I am doing okay. This is the first time I’ve been HOME for more than 8 hours to just sleep in a while. I’ve been in my jammies all day, doing some cleaning up, etc……

BUT, back to the game………did I hear Georgetown’s pep band playing Young Joc’s It’s going down? Lemme find out…..

I am pulling for Georgetown to take it all. I have been an Indiana, Georgetown, UNC fan for YEARS (yeah, I said Indiana! BITE ME)! I have the Indiana love, honestly…..it’s where I was born (down to the town). I even have an infant-sized white, IU sweatshirt with my name ironed on the back in VELVET letters (tell me that ain’t OLD SCHOOL)! I doubt I wore that long as an infant, seeing that I was the size of a three-month old when I was BORN! So, Georgetown and UNC were due to my “initiation” basketball years in the mid 80s. I even lived in North Carolina for 6 years. Graduated from a tobacco row school (not UNC) for one of my graduate degrees. Lived in the HEART of a tobacco row for 6 years. It was lovely!

Where I am originally, from, though, FOOTBALL RULES! Aw, yeah! The SWAC and SEC RUN the deep south in football. There is NOTHING LIKE it. NO other conferences can compare to the tailgating, the DEEP-rooted rivalries, the halftime shows, and the SMACK-talking for months before the season starts (like, it starts NOW).
So, today is a good sports day! GO, HOYAS!!!